Ariane Soft PPL2 Pocket Programming DataMite
  #1  
Old 07-19-2009, 04:24 PM
Nicknack Nicknack is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Germany
Posts: 527
Default Cleverupdate broken..

please check your actual version of CleverUpdate Alain when you release the new PPL 2 version. Cleverupdate tried to update , but the new version doesn't seem to be complete. eg. there is no pvi file for the base edition (anyway CleverUpdate doesn't show any product in the list) and not all buttons has a caption. I have also downloaded manually, but it's the same problem here.
btw should the update function in PPL 2 itself work yet? if not I have no chance to update and no chance to use any working PPL on my new laptop, because PPL 1 doesn't do it either. when I sart pide.exe simply nothing happens. ppl.exe works, but what is PPL without the pide?

Last edited by Nicknack; 07-19-2009 at 04:29 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-19-2009, 10:16 PM
kornalius kornalius is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 551
Default

Hi Nicknack,

This should all be under control now. InstallShield was giving me a lot of troubles. I am create build scripts in FinalBuilder to make sure I don't forget anything everytime I build a new release.

I have been testing all day on a different non-admin account on Windows 7 and all the errors you guys were experimenting have been taken care of.

I should have a new release tonight.
__________________
Regards,
Alain Deschenes
ArianeSoft Inc.
http://www.arianesoft.ca
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-20-2009, 12:32 AM
kornalius kornalius is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 551
Default

NickNack,

CleverUpdate (the newer version) has everything, it's because the pvi files are now installed in My Documents\CleverUpdate.

I check my installs.
__________________
Regards,
Alain Deschenes
ArianeSoft Inc.
http://www.arianesoft.ca
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-20-2009, 07:32 PM
DominiqueB DominiqueB is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 22
Default Upset and sad ! ! !

Hello,

i'm really upset ! !

i can't install anything !

i've downloades the last update of cleverupdate !

Each time i've installed cleverupdate, when i run the prog the title says 1.02.0005 is available.
So i click on install here the title says 1.02.0002.
It download the update, and says "warning an installation . . ." i answer ok.
Then it says "cleverupdate will be close . . ." i answer ok.
Then it tries to install and msi runs, but it only proposes me to repair, modify or uninstall ! ! !

Whatever i choose the clever update is closed and doesn't run again ! ! !

When i desinstall it by windows add or remove prog, it says the version is 1.02.0005, but if i click
right on the cleverinstall prog, i got a 1.02.0002 !

So what is the mater ! ! !


I'm realy sad ! !

Dominique
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-20-2009, 07:39 PM
kornalius kornalius is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 551
Default

Dominique,

Please uninstall CleverUpdate using Windows Add/Remove, but also delete the folder Program Files\CleverUpdate. Now download and install CleverUpdate using the link http://www.arianesoft.ca/Downloads/C...pdateSetup.exe

You should now have CleverUpdate 1.02.0005 installed.
__________________
Regards,
Alain Deschenes
ArianeSoft Inc.
http://www.arianesoft.ca
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-20-2009, 08:01 PM
Nicknack Nicknack is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Germany
Posts: 527
Default

I have a similar problem now, CleverUpdate says also all the time it would be version 1.02.002 in the caption. I have followed your instructions, but it doesn't help.
I could only install ppl 2 now, because 1.02.004 has allowed you to cancel the installation and then it thought 1.02.005 has been installed and so it let you install the other things. that is now impossible, because CleverUpdate is closed directly.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-20-2009, 08:17 PM
Kobus Kobus is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Spain
Posts: 141
Default

Hi,

Same problem here. The CU line in CU stayes checked - it can't be deselected.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-20-2009, 10:09 PM
kornalius kornalius is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 551
Default

Ok guys, a new version is up now. Sorry for confusion. My FinalBuilder script was not working properly when updating file version information and it went undetected. Now the versions should be up to date.

I am still learning this powerful tool that is FinalBuilder.

In desperate attempts to release new versions the fastest I can for you guys not to go crazy with installation issues, I happened to miss something. Once the build scripts are 100% right (which should be the case now), you won't experience any installation issues like this anymore.

Keep in mind, while this might affect your PPL 2 experience as a whole, they are not linked to the PPL 2 product itself. FinalBuilder is a new tool that I am using to automate the build processes for releasing my products. If I do everything manually, it would be worse, now once everything is automated correctly, it will be a better world for all of us.
__________________
Regards,
Alain Deschenes
ArianeSoft Inc.
http://www.arianesoft.ca
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-20-2009, 10:25 PM
Nicknack Nicknack is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Germany
Posts: 527
Thumbs up

works here now and next time learn a bit faster
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-20-2009, 11:23 PM
kornalius kornalius is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 551
Default

Hehe! The version numbers is also something I just recently implemented into my products. So all of this is pretty new.
__________________
Regards,
Alain Deschenes
ArianeSoft Inc.
http://www.arianesoft.ca
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright (c) ArianeSoft Inc.
Copyright © 2009 www.ppl-lang.com - All rights reserved
Web Design by BR Web Consulting Ltd