Ariane Soft PPL2 Pocket Programming DataMite
  #1  
Old 10-18-2007, 12:40 PM
Kevin Johnson Kevin Johnson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 35
Default PPL 1.3 String Encoding Problem

I've noticed that there is a very nasty bug in PPL 1.3 (the most current version). When i run it on WM2005 device, no matter what i do, it will not display Unicode Characters properly.
The problem wasn't occuring in the previous version of PPL.
Is there a way that i can change the code to Change the "Character Encoding" of the Strings in PPL?
I think this would be very helpful when developing for Chinese language.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-18-2007, 01:20 PM
kornalius
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Can you please elaborate with a very simple code? We have made modifications to the unicode string handling in 1.3, this could be causing the problem but we need more information to track down the problem.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-24-2007, 05:55 PM
Kevin Johnson Kevin Johnson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 35
Default

Well, if you goto the "made with PPL" thread, you will see my source code posted there.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-24-2007, 07:33 PM
kornalius
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Hi Kevin, I have reverted back to the original unicode check routine that was used prior to version 1.30. It is really giving me headhacks. There is no real way to determine a unicode string from a normal string. I have tried many solutions but none would work 100%. The previous approach in older releases worked better I guess.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-24-2007, 07:59 PM
Kevin Johnson Kevin Johnson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 35
Default

well, the code should be easy to adjust. Rather simply, the only textbox that needs a unicode character is the one that the chinese character goes into. The others can just use standard unencoded text. I'm just not sure how to use unicode strings.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-25-2007, 03:18 PM
kornalius
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Sounds simple but it is not. PPL internally verifies if a string is unicoded (char(), wide(), iswide(), apichar()) then converts it automatically. I should not have gone that route in the first place but now it is kinda late to go back.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-26-2007, 07:23 AM
Kevin Johnson Kevin Johnson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 35
Default

*Sigh*
i suppose this is the end of the development cylcle for my PPL project then. LOL. Ah well, i did learn a lot about PPL doing it though. My next project will be a JavaScript/DHTML version of the flashcard program. Though i'm planning on integrating the flashcard editor (never quite finished it in PPL) into the SPA (single page application - similar to TiddlyWiki).
However, i still think that maybe PPL can be a good programming environment for making a new AIML interpreter
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-26-2007, 12:10 PM
kornalius
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Maybe you didn't understand me right? I am fixing it! It was broken up until now, don't you want to try it first before stopping PPL developments?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-28-2007, 06:09 PM
Kevin Johnson Kevin Johnson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 35
Default

oh, i won't stop PPL development per se, just maybe, focusing on something else. I was thinking about the purpose of my project and it was basicly so that i could study chinese characters on my phone, or on any mobile device for at matter. Howevere there are several mobile devices that only support JAVA (aka java based web browser). I think my source code is publicly available, and i didn't want it to become a commercial project.
I'm thinking that maybe i will just have a sort of "bundle" of Ports. That way it covers every platform. I've rencently been interested in SinglePageApplications, such as Tiddlywiki.
I still would like to integrate the flashcard editor into the flashcard program though.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-02-2007, 04:18 AM
Kevin Johnson Kevin Johnson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 35
Default

i'm just curious, do you think that specifying a specific font that is a chinese (east-asian font) would fix the problem?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright (c) ArianeSoft Inc.
Copyright © 2009 www.ppl-lang.com - All rights reserved
Web Design by BR Web Consulting Ltd