Ariane Soft PPL2 Pocket Programming DataMite
  #1  
Old 06-30-2008, 03:23 AM
plinydogg plinydogg is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 119
Default PPL on Linux with Wine?

Hi,

I trolled these forums in the early days of PPL but shortly thereafter switched to Ubuntu as my main OS. Since PPL is Windows only I stopped paying attention to it when I switched to Linux.

I was wondering: has anyone tried using PPL in Linux using Wine (a program that implements the Windows API, allowing one to run Windows software from within Linux)?

Thanks!

Ben
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-01-2008, 01:42 AM
plinydogg plinydogg is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 119
Default

Alright. I finally had some time to try to get this to work. I downloaded the latest version of PPL (1.51) and installed it from within WINE. The installation went flawleessly. When I tried to run the PIDE, however, I got the following error:

"For security purposes, this program will not run while system debuggers are active. Please remove or disable the system debugger before trying to run this program again."

Needless to say, I'm not running any "system debuggers." Does anyone know how to turn these phantom debuggers off?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-01-2008, 01:45 AM
plinydogg plinydogg is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 119
Default

FYI (for anyone who's interested), it appears that this issue occurs with some other programs run with WINE. See e.g, this:

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=773119
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-01-2008, 11:27 AM
Mike Halliday's Avatar
Mike Halliday Mike Halliday is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Warrington, United Kingdom
Posts: 821
Send a message via Skype™ to Mike Halliday
Default

This appears to be an issue with not being able to disable the WINE debugger!

If you run PIDE as follows;

WINEDEBUG=-all wine PIDE.EXE you get

fixmerocess:SetProcessShutdownParameters (00000100,00000001): partial stub
fixme:mountmgr:harddisk_ioctl unsupported ioctl 560000
fixme:mountmgr:harddisk_ioctl unsupported ioctl 560000
fixme:mountmgr:harddisk_ioctl unsupported ioctl 560000
fixme:mountmgr:harddisk_ioctl unsupported ioctl 560000

before the error message about the system debugger appears.

Looks like PPL might not run under WINE! - this is a shame as I was thinking about changing to Ubuntu from Windows XP!

If I get any better results I will post here!
__________________
Past editor of 'Voice of the PPL' the BI-Monthly Disk Magazine for the PPL by the PeoPLe!

Still developing products using PPL! - Although not as many as I used to!


If you enjoy my PPL applications and want to see many more, or I have helped you in any way; click here to buy me a beer;
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-01-2008, 01:43 PM
Mike Halliday's Avatar
Mike Halliday Mike Halliday is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Warrington, United Kingdom
Posts: 821
Send a message via Skype™ to Mike Halliday
Default PPL on Linux with Wine - Partial success!

Woo hoo

I fixed it [I think]!!!! rofl.

It looks like there are some disk routines that PPL uses (Maybe for its copy protection) that stops PIDE from running under WINE. Or at least causes WINE to throw a fit!

I have managed to get it running though.

If you add WINEDEBUG=-all,+relay to the command line of the icon, PIDE loads, but takes a long time to do anything (I mean at least 2 1/2 mins)

The first time through after installation when PIDE asks for the location of the files, it will close down automatically, so you have to run it again.

The second time it is run, the IDE appears on the screen with the familiar interface!

I have this working with V1.40 and 1.51 too.

Unfortunately at the moment I have not been able to use the register runtimes option, as I get an error. - This stops PPL from running any code at all! (PANTS!!!!!)

More investigation is needed, but it does look like PPL will run under LINUX using WINE!

Alain, - I wonder now how many more users will use PPL???

Regards

Mike.
__________________
Past editor of 'Voice of the PPL' the BI-Monthly Disk Magazine for the PPL by the PeoPLe!

Still developing products using PPL! - Although not as many as I used to!


If you enjoy my PPL applications and want to see many more, or I have helped you in any way; click here to buy me a beer;

Last edited by Mike Halliday; 08-01-2008 at 02:49 PM. Reason: V1.15 update
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-01-2008, 04:51 PM
plinydogg plinydogg is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 119
Default

Mike,

This is FANTASTIC! Thanks for your replies.

However, adding the debug instructions to the icon command line doesn't seem to work for me, unless I'm doing something wrong, which is very possible since I've never used WINE in debug mode before. I tried this (as the command associated with the PIDE WINE Icon:

env WINEPREFIX="/home/ben/.wine" wine "C:\Program Files\PPL\pide.exe" WINEDEBUG=-all,+relay

as well as this:

env WINEPREFIX="/home/ben/.wine" wine "C:\Program Files\PPL\pide.exe WINEDEBUG=-all,+relay"

But got the same results. Am I using incorrect syntax or something?

Thanks in advance!

P.S. To each their own of course, but I absolutely LOVE Ubuntu and never use Windows as my primary OS again (I'm not a hater, Linux is just infinitely better (except in a few areas)!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-01-2008, 07:17 PM
Mike Halliday's Avatar
Mike Halliday Mike Halliday is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Warrington, United Kingdom
Posts: 821
Send a message via Skype™ to Mike Halliday
Talking

Quote:
Originally Posted by plinydogg View Post
Mike,

This is FANTASTIC! Thanks for your replies.

However, adding the debug instructions to the icon command line doesn't seem to work for me, unless I'm doing something wrong, which is very possible since I've never used WINE in debug mode before. I tried this (as the command associated with the PIDE WINE Icon:

env WINEPREFIX="/home/ben/.wine" wine "C:\Program Files\PPL\pide.exe" WINEDEBUG=-all,+relay

as well as this:

env WINEPREFIX="/home/ben/.wine" wine "C:\Program Files\PPL\pide.exe WINEDEBUG=-all,+relay"

But got the same results. Am I using incorrect syntax or something?

Thanks in advance!

P.S. To each their own of course, but I absolutely LOVE Ubuntu and never use Windows as my primary OS again (I'm not a hater, Linux is just infinitely better (except in a few areas)!

I think your syntax is fine,. but in the wrong order?

I have it like this.

env WINEDEBUG=-all,+relay WINEPREFIX="/home/mhalliday/.wine" wine "C:\Program Files\PPL\pide.exe"

I think the arguments have to be in the same place befire you execute the windows application.

Try that and see if it works! - I will try it myself too just to make sure.

The only difference is that I am running VMWare GSX server (under windows XP) with Ubuntu 8.04 running WINE. - Seems to work quite well, but it is slow.

Keep me posted on how you get on.

Ta.

Mike.
__________________
Past editor of 'Voice of the PPL' the BI-Monthly Disk Magazine for the PPL by the PeoPLe!

Still developing products using PPL! - Although not as many as I used to!


If you enjoy my PPL applications and want to see many more, or I have helped you in any way; click here to buy me a beer;
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-01-2008, 07:31 PM
plinydogg plinydogg is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 119
Default

Darn, it didn't work for me. I tried this:

env WINEDEBUG=-all,+relay WINEPREFIX="/home/ben/.wine" wine "C:\Program Files\PPL\pide.exe"

Curious that it works for you but not for me...
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-01-2008, 09:33 PM
Mike Halliday's Avatar
Mike Halliday Mike Halliday is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Warrington, United Kingdom
Posts: 821
Send a message via Skype™ to Mike Halliday
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by plinydogg View Post
Darn, it didn't work for me. I tried this:

env WINEDEBUG=-all,+relay WINEPREFIX="/home/ben/.wine" wine "C:\Program Files\PPL\pide.exe"

Curious that it works for you but not for me...
Do you still get an error or does it just seem to hang?

Any chance of a screen dump?

(I will try it again over the weekend and make sure that I am tellig you the correct information!)
__________________
Past editor of 'Voice of the PPL' the BI-Monthly Disk Magazine for the PPL by the PeoPLe!

Still developing products using PPL! - Although not as many as I used to!


If you enjoy my PPL applications and want to see many more, or I have helped you in any way; click here to buy me a beer;

Last edited by Mike Halliday; 08-01-2008 at 09:34 PM. Reason: Additions.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-03-2008, 01:39 PM
plinydogg plinydogg is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 119
Default

I'm still getting the errror message (see attached screenshot).
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ppl.png
Views:	164
Size:	144.5 KB
ID:	19  
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright (c) ArianeSoft Inc.
Copyright © 2009 www.ppl-lang.com - All rights reserved
Web Design by BR Web Consulting Ltd